Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award


The Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award is presented each year by the Mecklenburg County Bar through its Diversity & Inclusion Committee. Its purpose is to recognize an attorney who champions diversity and inclusion in Mecklenburg County while embodying high ethical standards, unquestioned integrity and consistent competence. Nominations are due on or before Friday, November 6, 2020, and should be addressed to members of the MCB Diversity & Inclusion Committee, sent to ChambersAward@meckbar.org or 2850 Zebulon Avenue, Charlotte, NC 28208. The award will be presented to the selected recipient at the McMillan Fund Fellowship Dinner.

Nominees must be attorneys based in Mecklenburg County who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and impact in the following areas:

  • Diversity within the Bar - through facilitation of recruitment, hiring, retention and promotion of diverse individuals in the legal profession.
  • Community Service - through provision of outstanding service and education to the community about diversity and inclusion.
  • Ambassador for Diversity and Inclusion Programs - through promotion of behaviors and initiatives associated with diversity and inclusion in the legal profession and through the Mecklenburg County Bar  
  • Advancement in Law - through legal work that had embraced and propelled the ideal of diversity and inclusion.  

The Award is fittingly named after its first honoree, the distinguished civil rights attorney Julius L. Chambers. Mr. Chambers represented the plaintiffs in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg school desegregation case Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education.


Julius L. Chambers Diversity Award Winners

Julius L. Chambers - 2008

George V. Hanna III - 2009

Judge Clifton E. Johnson - 2010

James E. Ferguson II - 2011

Judge Rickye McKoy-Mitchell - 2012

Georgia J. Lewis - 2013

Elisa Chinn-Gary - 2014

Robert E. Harrington - 2015

Connie J. Vetter - 2016

Valecia M. McDowell - 2017

Judge Albert Diaz - 2018

Judge Carla Archie - 2019

Judge Jane Harper - 2020