Judicial Nominating Committee


Coordinates the balloting process for choosing candidates to submit to the North Carolina governor in filling vacancies on the 26th Judicial District Court bench.





2019-20 Chair 2019-20 Vice Chair
Michael J. Greene
Maria G.B. Long



Committee Members

Tania N. Archer
Cary B. Davis
Richard A. Elkins
Charles Euripides
John Fetner
Brett Few
Michael Hoard
Steve W. Kearney
Richard F. Kronk
Laura Lawrence
Lee A. Peindl
Noell P. Tin


Staff Liaison

Shannon R. Reid
704/375-8624 ext.126



The Judicial Nominating Committee meets only as needed upon notice of an upcoming out-of-cycle judicial vacancy on the Twenty-Sixth Judicial District Court bench. The committee oversees the balloting process for submitting nominations to the North Carolina governor in filling such vacancy.


2018-19 Judicial Nominating Committee Report
Martin L. White, Chair and Michael J. Greene, Vice-Chair

Periodically, it becomes incumbent upon the Mecklenburg County Bar (MCB)/26th Judicial District Bar to participate in the process set forth in North Carolina General Statutes Section 7A-142, which pertains to the process of filling out-of-cycle vacancies in the office of district court judge.  This year, Judges Louis A. Trosch Jr. and Ronald L. Chapman vacated their District Court seats.  As such, the Judicial Nominating Committee coordinated the MCB’s nominating and balloting process for candidates to fill those vacancies. 

Through the process to fill Judge Trosch’s vacancy, the MCB elected a single nominee, Donald Cureton, Jr., on January 22, 2019.  A total of 851 MCB members submitted ballots.  The Governor subsequently appointed Judge Cureton to that seat on February 28, 2019.  Judge Cureton’s term will expire on December 31, 2020. 

Though the process to fill Judge Chapman’s vacancy, the MCB submitted the names of three nominees to the Governor on June 13, 2019.  Those nominees, in order of finish and with the weighted vote totals, were as follows: Alicia D. Brooks (1761 points), Rex Marvel (1408 points), and John R. Anderson (584 points).  A total of 925 MCB members submitted ballots.  As of the date of this report, June 20, 2019, the Governor has not announced an appointment to fill that vacancy.  The term for that seat will expire on December 31, 2020.