2016 - 17 Law Day Committee


The Law Day Committee arranges for the celebration of the annual Law Day Luncheon held each year on or about May 1 and selects the Liberty Bell Award that honors a non-lawyer in the community for contributing to the promotion of freedom under the law.




2016-17 Chair 2016-17 Vice-Chair
Keith F. Atkinson
Robert C. Bowers


Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019
Matthew A. Cherep
Hon. Jane V. Harper
Amanda Pickens
Sudhir N. Shenoy
Adebola V. Lamikanra
Parker Moore
Melissa A. Romanzo
Ashley C. Hyman
Leslie A. Pedernales
Jonathan E. Schulz




Staff Liaison


Leah Campbell, Assistant Executive Director / Director of Communications, lcampbell@meckbar.org  



Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Law Day Committee attend monthly committee meetings October - May.  Primary responsibilities include selecting and securing a keynote speaker, reviewing Liberty Bell award nominations and selecting a winner, soliciting firm sponsors, determining format and program of the event and promoting the Luncheon. Interested in joining this committee? Complete the committee interest form



Committee Documents/Links


Law Day Luncheon

2012 Law Day Program



2016-17 Law Day Committee Report

Keith Atkinson, Chair and Bobby Bowers, Vice-Chair

The Mecklenburg County Bar celebrated the nation’s 59th Law Day on May 2, 2017 at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. Law Day was established by a proclamation of President Dwight Eisenhower in 1958. In the midst of the Cold War, the President encouraged Americans to reflect on the importance of the rule of law in the preservation of democracy.
This year luncheon featured a keynote address by author and constitutional law attorney Floyd Abrams. Introduced by Jonathan E. Buchan Jr., Mr. Abrams gave a fascinating lecture on the history of free speech in the United States and the degree to which American law protects free speech more intensely and often more controversially than anywhere else in the world. The first 100 attendees at the event received a free, signed copy of Mr. Abrams new book, The Soul of the First Amendment: Why Freedom of Speech Matters.
A regular highlight of the Law Day Luncheon is the presentation of the Liberty Bell Award given each year to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the law. Carla Tweddale, Founder and President of the Lily Pad Haven, unaware that she had been chosen to receive the award, looked on as Lily Pad Haven board member Greg Spink announced her as this year’s award recipient. 
The Law Day Luncheon would not be possible without the support of our local law firms, legal departments and community organizations.  Thank you to the following Law Day Sponsors:
Alston & Bird LLP
Bank of America
Moore & Van Allen PLLC
Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP
Winstead Attorneys
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Alan Gordon Immigration Law
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Duke Energy
Essex Richards P.A.
Duke Energy
Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC
Hunton & Williams
James, McElroy & Diehl, P.A.
Johnston, Allison & Hord, PA
K&L Gates
Law Offices of T. Michael Todd, P.L.L.C.
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Nexsen Pruet, PLLC
Poyner Spruill LLP
Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
The McIntosh Law Firm
Wake Forest University School of Law
Wells Fargo
Winston & Strawn LLP
Woodward & Woodward PLLC
Bell, Davis & Pitt
Charlotte Hornett
Cozen O’Connor
Grady Jessup, PLLC
Grier Furr & Crisp, PA
Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo, L.L.P.
Husqvarna Group
Hutchens Law Firm
King Law
Kirk, Palmer & Thigpen, P.A.
Morehead Title Company
Ruff, Bond, Cobb, Wade & Bethune, L.L.P.
Special Counsel, Inc
DeVore, Acton & Stafford, P.A.
Thank you to the 2016-17 Law Day Committee: Keith F. Atkinson, Chair, Robert C. Bowers, Vice Chair, Matthew A. Cherep, Ashley Hyman, Parker Moore, Adebola V. Lamikrana, Leslie A. Pedernales, Amanda Pickens, Melissa A. Romanzo, Jonathan E. Schulz, Sudhir N. Shenoy.