2016 - 17 Bar Leadership Institute Committee



Encourages lawyers in the development of their professional and leadership skills within the Bar, Foundation and legal profession. A joint MCB and MBF Committee.





2016-17 Chair 2016-17 Vice-Chair
Jason Stevens
Mark. W. Kinghorn



Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019

Erika M. Erlenbach
Heather R. Hobgood
Brandon M. Lofton

Michael L. Martinez
David W. Murrary
Christopher M. Vann
M. Aaron Lay
Julie C. Spahn
Sarah Motley Stone




Staff Liaison

Shannon Rae Reid, Director of Compliance & Ethics, sreid@meckbar.org




Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Bar Leadership Institute Committee attend monthly committee meetings, select BLI participants from pool of applicants, monitor budget and expenses of program, assist in planning kickoff event and program sessions, and evaluate program effectiveness at year's end.  Interested in joining this committee? Complete the committee interest form 






2015-16 Bar Leadership Institute Committee Report

Mica N. Worthy, Chair & Jason Stevens, Vice-Chair
The MCB and MBF Bar Leadership Institute (BLI) enjoyed a successful 2016-16 year, thanks in large part to the overwhelming support of Charlotte-area firms and organizations.  The BLI Class of 2016 is comprised of 20 participants with diverse backgrounds personally and professionally.  With the help of MyndWorks Learning Network, Inc., the members of the BLI Class evaluated their personal leadership styles, strengths, and areas for development during a weekend retreat in Hickory, North Carolina and over the course of seven evening sessions that featured prominent legal and civic leaders in our community. 
The BLI Committee would like to thank all of the speakers, whom the Committee identified as experts in their respective session topics, for volunteering their time to the BLI this year.  Those speakers include Cory Hohnbaum, Aretha V. Blake, Nancy Roberson, Thomas Hanchett, Debra Campbell, David B. Hamilton, Gary S. Hemric, Keith B. Nichols, Nancy Blake Norelli, Astrid Chirinos, Josephine Hicks, Toussaint Romain, Blaine Sanders, Hon. Karen Eady-Williams, Kevin Tully, and Dumont Clarke.  The Committee would also like to thank MyndWorks Learning Network, Inc. facilitators, Jayne Williams and Vern Williams.
Over the years, the BLI program has graduated more than 200 MCB members, most of whom are now active in the many committees and sections of the MCB and MBF and many of whom hold leadership positions within the MCB and MBF.  The BLI Class of 2016 will, no doubt, be just as active and involved as past program participants.  They have already committed to plan a CLE program derived from courthouse personnel professionalism survey results.
Please join the BLI Committee and MCB and MBF leaders in congratulating the most recent BLI graduates!
R. Locke Beatty, McGuireWoods LLP
Carolyn Bellof, Stallard & Bellof PLLC
Clay A. Campbell, Baucom Claytor Benton Morgan & Wood P.A.
James R. Cass, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson P.A.
Jessica C. Dixon, Parker Poe & Bernstein LLP
Soree Finley, Legal Services of Southern Piedmont Inc.
Kristen E. Finlon, Finlon Law PLLC
Brittany M. Howze, Mecklenburg County District Attorney's Office
Adebola V. Lamikanra, Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo LLP
Matthew K. Lilly, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Nancy S. Litwak, Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin PLLC
Matthew T. Marcellino, Marcellino & Tyson PLLC
Thomas R. McPherson, Mainsail Lawyers
Leslie A. Pedernales, Moore & Van Allen PLLC
Angela R.Perry, Alston & Bird LLP
Christopher P. Raab, Caudle & Spears P.A.
R. Lee Robertson Jr., Richard L. Robertson & Associates
Julie C. Spahn, Forsythe Immigration Law Firm
Keith L. Thornton, Bank of America
Mandana D. Vidwan, Charlotte School of Law