2016 - 17 Fee Dispute Resolution Committee


The Fee Dispute Resolution Committee mediates and arbitrates fee disputes pursuant to RPC 1.5(f). Committee members/panelists must have mediation experience or be DRC certified mediators.





2016-17 Chair

Chistopher A. Hicks



Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019 Public Members
Sarah L. DiFranco
Amy R. Howard
Elizabeth J. James
Matthew T. McKee
Louis A. Waple

G. Martin Hunter
Michael E. Navarro
Heidi S. Risser
Jessica V. Shaddock
Scott M. Tyler

Chad Crockford
Tamara L. Huckert
Angelina M. Maletto
Eric A. Montgomery
Christopher D. Osborn
Denice J. von Gnechten


Staff Liaison

Shannon Rae Reid, Director for Compliance & Ethics - sreid@meckbar.org 




Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Fee Dispute Resolution Committee attend quarterly committee meetings and are assigned two to three cases each month to mediate. Members will also have the opportunity to participate in arbitration panels consisting of three panelists: a chair, one attorney and one lay person.  Interested in joining this committee?Complete the committee interest form.



2015-16 Fee Dispute Resolution Committee

Keith Nichols, Chair



The Fee Dispute Resolution Committee mediates (and in some cases arbitrates) fee disputes between lawyers who are members of the Mecklenburg County Bar and their clients.  Fee disputes may be filed locally or with the North Carolina State Bar.  Under the North Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct Rule 1.5(f), North Carolina licensed attorneys must participate in good faith in the Fee Dispute Resolution process if a client has made a timely and proper claim.  Committee are trained and certified mediators or have extensive mediation experience.  All proceedings are confidential.
From July 1, 2015, through June 17, 2016, approximately 54 new files were opened and 30 were closed.  The number of new files this fiscal year is comparable to last fiscal year, which may suggest a stabilization from the increase the Committee had seen in prior years.