MCB Board of Directors and Officer Nominations


In accordance with Article VIII, Section 3(e) of the bylaws of the Mecklenburg County Bar, 26th Judicial District, interested members of the Mecklenburg County Bar are encouraged to submit their names or the names of other active members of the Bar for consideration as nominees for various officer positions and Board of Directors' seats for the MCB fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017. Please note that potential nominees must have agreed to serve prior to being officially nominated.


Names to be considered for Officer positions should be submitted no later than 5 p.m. on February 7, 2017, and names to be considered for Board positions should be submitted no later that 5 p.m. on March, 7, 2017, to; Nominating Committee Chair Cory Hohnbaum; MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson; any member of the Nominating Committee; or mailed to Nominating Committee, c/o MCB, 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC, 28208. Members of the Nominating Committee were printed in the January edition of the Mecklenburg Bar News and are listed below.


The Nominating Committee will meet twice. The first meeting is scheduled for February 8, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center at 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC 28208 to consider nominations for Officer positions. The second meeting is scheduled for March 8, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center to consider all nominations. MCB members may nominate an individual in person at this meeting.


A list of the individuals nominated by the Committee will be posted on in March, printed in the April edition of the Mecklenburg Bar News and presented to the MCB membership for approval at the MCB Annual Meeting on May 18, 2017. Additional nominations may also be made from the floor at the Annual Meeting. 



The Committee shall approve nominations to serve in the following officer and board positions for the 2017-18 term, pursuant to Article VII, Section 1(b):

  • President-Elect (one-year term)
  • Vice President (one-year term)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Treasurer (one-year term)
  • Board of Directors (three-year terms, six members - two of whom must be current members of the Young Lawyers Division)
  • Young Lawyers Division Chair (one-year term - current member of the Young Lawyers Division.)


MCB Nominating Committee
2016-17 Members
In accordance with Article VII, Section3(c) of the Bylaws of the Mecklenburg County Bar (MCB), the Executive Committee approved the following persons to serve as members of the 2016-17 Nominating Committee:
Rob Harrington¹
Bob Henderson¹
Woody Connette
Michael Martinez
Kimberly Owens
Gonzalo Frias
Anna Gray Carpenter²
Kyle LeBlanc²
Hon. Robert Bell
Chara O'Neale
Denzil Forrester
Eric Montgomery
                    Past President¹                  
                 Young Lawyers Division²               
Cory Hohnbaum, as Immediate Past President of the MCB, serves as Chair of the Nominating Committee. MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson serves as an ex-officio member of this committee.