Indigent Representation Committee


Works in conjunction with the Office of the Public Defender to coordinate and maintain the attorney appointment list for criminal indigent defendants in the 26th Judicial District criminal court system. Committee members must be on the indigent representation list.





2020-21 Chair

Mekka Jeffers-Nelson



Committee Members

Hon. Carla Archie
Hon. Roy Wiggins
Kevin Barnett
Dan Roberts
Chiege Okwara
Molly Morgan
Kevin Tully
Susan Weigand-Williams
Darwin F. Rice



Staff Liaison
Shannon R. Reid, Associate Executive Director -



Volunteer Need / Commitment

This Committee is governed by regulations approved by the NC Office of Indigent Defense Services. Those regulations dictate the various authorities for appointment to this committee. If you are interested in joining this committee, please email Shannon Reid at for more information.