Bar Leadership Institute Committee


Encourages lawyers in the development of their professional and leadership skills within the Bar, Foundation and legal profession.  A joint MCB and MBF Committee.




2020-21 Chair 2020-21 Vice-Chair
R. Lee Robertson, Jr.
Gabrielle G. Kelly



Class of 2021 Class of 2022 Class of 2023

Jennifer P. Moore
Mandana D. Vidwan
Tonya D. Brooks


Clay Campbell
Caroline Mitchell
Colleen Molner


Mandy Schuller
Jessica Battle
Shantia Coley



Staff Liaison

Shannon R. Reid, Associate Executive Director -


Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Bar Leadership Institute (BLI) Committee attend monthly committee meetings, select BLI participants from pool of applicants, monitor the annual BLI budget, plan the kickoff event and evening program sessions, recruit speakers and alumni for various roles and evaluate program effectiveness at year's end.  The BLI Committee currently meets on the first Wednesday each month at 8 a.m. 


2019-20 Bar Leadership Institute Committee Report
David W. Murray, Chair & R. Lee Robertson, Jr., Vice Chair

The Bar Leadership Institute (BLI) of the Mecklenburg County Bar and Mecklenburg Bar Foundation entered into its 18th year in 2019-20.  The BLI Class of 2020 is comprised of 20 participants with diverse backgrounds personally and professionally.  In February 2020, Bar and Foundation leaders celebrated the Class at the annual Bar Leadership Dinner featuring keynote speaker Judge Albert Diaz of the United States Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.  That weekend, the Class embarked a weekend retreat in Hickory, North Carolina to evaluate their personal leadership styles, strengths, and areas for development under the facilitation of Sharon Reed of HBD Group LLC.

Though the COVID-19 pandemic interrupted the original programming for the BLI in the spring months, the Committee and Ms. Reed worked diligently to pivot and plan virtual sessions for the participants, inviting prominent legal and civic leaders from the community.  The BLI Committee would like to thank those speakers who have participated as of the date of this report (June 29, 2020), including Judge Christy Mann, Heather Culp, Dr. Tom Hanchett, David Erdman, Shalanna Pirtle, Shantia Coley and Major Mike Campagna.