2016 Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion

Connie J. Vetter 



The Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award, which honors an individual who embodies high ethical standards, unquestioned integrity, consistent competence and who champions diversity in the legal profession, was presented to Connie J. Vetter at the Mecklenburg Bar Foundation's Hon. James B. McMillan Fellowship Dinner on Thurs., Feb. 25.
Connie J. Vetter has been the go-to LGBT Law attorney in the Charlotte area for over 20 years, as a lawyer and mediator for LGBTQ clients. Her legal practice focuses on the needs of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender individuals and couples as well as the larger community. 
Connie has been active in the community for many years and involved in a number of organizations including Human Rights Campaign, Equality NC, North Carolina Gay and Lesbian Attorneys, Meck PAC, Time Out Youth, and The LGBTQ Community Center, among others. She also speaks about LGBT Law to community groups and business organizations.
Connie is a member of the North Carolina State Bar, the Mecklenburg County Bar and the National LGBT Bar Association. She is a graduate of Northeastern University School of Law and The Ohio State University. Connie’s law practice accepts clients from across North Carolina.

The Award is fittingly named after its first honoree, the distinguished civil rights attorney Julius L. Chambers. Mr. Chambers represented the plaintiffs in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg school desegregation case Swann v. Charlotte Mecklenburg Board of Education.  Award criteria include facilitating recruitment, hiring, retention, and promotion of diverse individuals in the legal profession; providing outstanding service and education to the community at large by unifying and uplifting diverse people of all backgrounds; and/or promoting ideals of diversity in the legal profession.  Former winners include Julius L. Chambers – 2008, George V. Hanna III – 2009, Judge Clifton E. Johnson – 2010, James E. Ferguson II – 2011, Judge Rickye McKoy-Mitchell – 2012, Georgia J. Lewis – 2013, Elisa Chinn-Gary – 2014 and Robert E. Harrington - 2015.