2014 - 15 Law Day Committee

The Law Day Committee arranges for the celebration of the annual Law Day Luncheon held each year on or about May 1 and selects the Liberty Bell Award that honors a non-lawyer in the community for contributing to the promotion of freedom under the law.



       2014-15 Chair

   2014-15 Vice-Chair

       Kobi K. Brinson

   Sudhir N. Shenoy





Class of 2015

Class of 2016

Class of 2017

Keith F. Atkinson

Sarah W. Breen

Matthew A. Cherep

Spencer B. Merriweather III

Daniel A. Merlin

Amanda Pickens

Claire J. Rauscher

Samuel J. Randall IV


Joe Thompson

George W. Sistrunk III




Staff Liaison

Sara Taylor Moore, Member Networking & Sponsorship Coordinator, smoore@meckbar.org

Rhea Kelley, Director of Communications & Member Networking, rkelley@meckbar.org  

Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Law Day Committee attend monthly committee meetings October - May.  Primary responsibilities include selecting and securing a keynote speaker, reviewing Liberty Bell award nominations and selecting a winner, soliciting firm sponsors, determining format and program of the event and promoting the Luncheon. Interested in joining this committee? Complete the committee interest form



Committee Documents/Links


Law Day Luncheon

2012 Law Day Program


2013-14 Law Day Committee Report

Sarah M. Stone, Chair and Kobi K. Brinson, Vice-Chair


2013-14 Highlights

·         Speaker Mary C. Curtis, national multi-media journalist, provided the keynote address.

·         Attendance remained strong with 365 attendees.


The Mecklenburg County Bar celebrated the nation's 56th  Law Day on May 8, 2014 at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. This year’s theme was “American Democracy and the Rule of Law: Why Every Vote Counts” in commemoration of the anniversaries of the Civil Rights Act and Voting Rights Act.


Award-winning journalist Mary C. Curtis provided the keynote address on the theme with an introduction from Vice Chair Kobi K. Brinson.  Sarah M. Stone, Law Day Committee chair, welcomed all the attendees and thanked them for attending.  Ms. Stone then introduced F. Lane Williamson, MCB Board of Directors, to give the invocation.  Kobi K. Brinson, Law Day Committee Vice Chair, recognized the many federal and state judges in attendance.


A regular highlight of the Law Day Luncheon is the presentation of the Liberty Bell Award, given each year to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the law. Anne Pfeiffer, Director of Pat’s Place Child Advocacy Center received the 2014 Award.  Ms. Pfeiffer’s accomplishments and contributions were first recognized by Capt. Hulsey of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Police Department’s Special Victims Division.  

Fannie Flono of the Charlotte Observer presented the Law Day Essay Contest first place award to local high school student Elizabeth Matulis of South Mecklenburg High School.


MCB President Tricia M. Derr concluded the Luncheon by thanking Event Sponsor Charlotte School of Law and reminded those in attendance that the Law Day Luncheon would not be possible without the support of our local law firms, legal departments and community organizations.


Gold Sponsors

Bank of America

Duke Energy

Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

James, McElroy & Diehl, P.A.

Johnston, Allison & Hord, P.A.

K & L Gates

MCB Young Lawyers Division

Moore & Van Allen PLLC

Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Nexsen Pruet, PLLC

Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP

Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.

Special Counsel

Law Offices of T. Michael Todd, P.L.L.C.

Tin Fulton Walker & Owen, PLLC

Law Office of Tamela T. Wallace, P.A.

Wells Fargo & Company

Winstead Attorneys

Wishart Norris Henninger & Pittman, PA

Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice


Silver Sponsors

Additon, Higgins, Pendleton & Ashe, P.A.

Association of Corporate Counsel - Charlotte Chapter

Baucom, Claytor, Benton, Morgan & Wood, P.A.

Burt & Cordes, PLLC

Bobcats Sports & Entertainment

Harbor City Title Insurance Agency, Inc.

Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo L.L.P.

Higgins &  Owens, PLLC

Hunton & Williams

Kirk, Palmer & Thigpen, P.A.

Poyner Spruill LLP

Rogers Townsend & Thomas, PC

Ruff, Bond, Cobb, Wade & Bethune, L.L.P.


The Law Day Luncheon was organized by the Law Day Committee. The Committee members are Sarah Stone, Chair, Kobi Brinson, Vice Chair, Keith Atkinson, Sarah Breen, Stacy Cordes, Randall Hoose, Daniel Merlin, Spencer Merriweather, Jeannie  Rogers, Sudhir Shenoy, George Sistrunk, Jennifer Staples, Joe Thompson, and Felicia Washington. A special thank you to Judge Selina M. Brooks for her assistance and support of the Law Day event.