Printer Friendly Page

Law Day Committee


The Law Day Committee arranges for the celebration of the annual Law Day Luncheon held each year on or about May 1 and selects the Liberty Bell Award that honors a non-lawyer in the community for contributing to the promotion of freedom under the law.









2013-14 Chair

2013-14 Vice-Chair

Sarah M. Stone

Kobi K. Brinson




Class of 2014

Class of 2015

Class of 2016

Jennifer K Staples

Spencer B. Merriweather III

Sarah W. Breen

Stacy C. Cordes

Joe Thompson

George  W. Sistrunk III

Randall S. Hoose

Keith F. Atkinson

Daniel A. Merlin

Jeannie S. Rogers

Felicia A. Washington

Sudhir N. Shenoy


Staff Liaison

Sara Taylor Moore, Member Networking & Sponsorship Coordinator,

Rhea Kelley, Director of Communications & Member Networking,  





Volunteer Need / Commitment

Members of the Law Day Committee attend monthly committee meetings October - May.  Primary responsibilities include selecting and securing a keynote speaker, reviewing Liberty Bell award nominations and selecting a winner, soliciting firm sponsors, determining format and program of the event and promoting the Luncheon. Interested in joining this committee? Complete the committee interest form 



Committee Documents/Links


Law Day Luncheon

2012 Law Day Program


Law Day Committee, 2012-13 Report
By: Jeannie S. Rogers, Chair and Spencer M. Merriweather, Vice Chair

The Mecklenburg County Bar celebrated the nation's 55th  Law Day on May 2, 2013 at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. This year's theme was "Realizing the Dream: Equality for All" in commemoration of the 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation.  Law Day was established by a proclamation of President Dwight Eisenhower in 1958. In the midst of the Cold War, the President encouraged Americans to reflect on the importance of the rule of law in the preservation of democracy.

U.S. Congressman Melvin L. Watt provided the keynote address on the theme of "Realizing the Dream: Equality for All" and Mayor Anthony Foxx provided an introduction for the Congressman's remarks.  Jeannie S. Rogers, Law Day Committee chair, welcomed all the attendees and thanked them for attending.  Ms. Rogers then introduced Doug Jarrell, MBF President, to give the invocation.  Spencer M. Merriweather, Law Day Committee Vice Chair, recognized the nearly 50 federal and state judges in attendance. One of these Judges in attendance, the Hon. Sammy Chess, was the first African American elected to the Supreme Court of NC.

A regular highlight of the Law Day Luncheon is the presentation of the Liberty Bell Award, given each year to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the law. Myra M. Clark, Executive Director of the Center for Communities in transition, received the 2013 Award. Unaware that she had been chosen to receive the award, Ms. Clark's accomplishments and contributions were first recognized by Judge Rebecca Tin.

Fannie Flono of the Charlotte Observer presented the Law Day Essay Contest first place award to local high school student Rachel Carroll. 

MCB President Robert E. Harrington concluded the Luncheon by thanking Event Sponsor Charlotte School of Law and reminded those in attendance that the Law Day Luncheon would not be possible without the support of our local law firms, legal departments and community organizations.

Bank of America
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Charlotte School of Law
Fidelity National Title Company
First Choice Title Services
Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC
Horack Talley PA
James, McElroy & Diehl, P.A.
K & L Gates
MCB Young Lawyers Division
Moore & Van Allen PLLC
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Nexsen Pruet, PLLC
Poyner Spruill LLP
Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
Special Counsel
Tin Fulton Walker & Owen, PLLC
Wells Fargo & Company
Winstead Attorneys
Winston & Strawn LLP
Wishart Norris Henninger & Pittman PA
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Association of Corporate Counsel - Charlotte Chapter
Bank of Commerce
Burt & Cordes, PLLC
Culp Elliot & Carpenter, P.L.L.C.
Essex Richards P.A.
Grant Thorton, L.L.P.
Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo L.L.P.
Higgins &  Owens, PLLC
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Kirk Palmer & Thigpen, P.A.
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Rayburn, Cooper & Durham, P.A.
Ruff, Bond, Cobb, Wade & Bethune, L.L.P.

The Law Day Luncheon was organized by the Law Day Committee. The Committee members are Jeannie S. Rogers, Chair, Spencer M. Merriweather, Vice Chair, Robert Blair, Stacy C. Cordes, W. Lewis Glenn III, Randall S. Hoose Jr., Jennifer Kuhn Staples, Jerri J. Simmons and Sarah M. Stone. A special thank you to Judge Selina M. Brooks for her assistance and support of the Law Day event.



MCB Today

Quick Links

Inclement Weather Plan:  The MCB follows the CMS school closing schedule.  

Pay Your Annual Membership Fee Here

Need a lawyer?  Call the Lawyer Referral Service

MCB CLE - Your #1 Source for CLEs in Mecklenburg County 

En Espanol/Spanish

Support Your BFF!.

Upcoming MCB Events

5-2-14 Come Rap With Us -Alternative Options for Legal Practice
Free networking event and lunch to connect informally with peers and discuss the steps and things to consider when making a big career change. Register by 4/28/14.

5-8-14 Law Day Luncheon
Mary C. Curtis, award-winning multimedia journalist, will provide the keynote address. The MCB will present the Liberty Bell Award and winner of the Charlotte Observer's Law Day essay contest.

5-8-14 MCB YLD Spring Social
Join MCB YLD members for drinks and appetizers at the NoDa Brewery Crawl. Free for MCB YLD members; $10 for Non-Members


Mecklenburg County Bar